When is your work finished?

Sitting in a university class covering how my work will be marked is quite thought provoking.
Once you complete a piece of work to the best of your ability, how do you improve on it?

I heard a relatively well known saying “An artists work is never finished, only abandoned”.

Writing in itself is an artform and I wonder if it’s possible to completely finish a piece of work in whatever form.

Having considered the possibilities of this idea, I really don’t think that my work, whether it is written or not, will ever live up to the true potential of what I’m trying to achieve in my head and in fact I have to just decided to stop working.

How does everybody else feel? Does your work really represent your greatest thoughts and ideas, or is your work just an attempt to animate your imagination?

holdupnow

Leave a Reply

